Seoul Cafe Hopping

Cafe Hopping
Before leaving for Seoul, I was told that there’s a lot of cafes in Hongdae and Itaewon, but let me tell you something, there’s cafes EVERYWHERE! Seoul is the capital city for all the cafes I tell you. There’s nowhere I went to that doesn’t have cafes. Well, maybe not the residence area but you get my gist…

I must advice that you not eat at the same cafe for the duration of your stay. There’s just that many cafes to try out! And please… no Starbucks. I mean, I love Starbucks and all, but you’re in Seoul!! There’s so many choices to choose from even if you drink 3 cups of coffee everyday…

OK let’s get this straight. Fact is, cafes are expensive. No matter how cheap it is, it ain’t gonna be cheaper than ‘normal’ food. Reason being, you’re also paying for the ambiance. Since that’s the case, might as well choose a cafe that has a nice interior you love (and take pictures! :p)


Here’s a list of cafes which I personally went to on my trip to Seoul:

Cath’s Cafe
Nearest train station: Angguk St (line 3/orange line)

We found this cafe purely by chance. It was like opposite Jeongdok Public Library (where we saw cherry blossoms) so you can probably use that as your guide. A must-go-to for all Kath Kidson fans. You get to enjoy your cuppa while browsing through the new Kath Kidson collection…

047. Rare quite time
Inside Cath’s Cafe

I have to say that it’s quite a long way from the train station, but it’s worth a visit if you’re going around Bukcheon anyway. I have not seen any other outlets, so I’m assuming currently they only have one outlet. But there might be more. You can always google it before you leave for your trip. 🙂

Cappuccino & Strawberry Short cake
Cappuccino & Strawberry cake

This is actually the first cafe we went to in Seoul and well the strawberry cake we ordered was delicious! The cappuccino was delicious too. I’d say it’s pretty expensive but it’s worth it. And you get to take as much photos as you want in the lovely cafe. 😉 Seriously, take as many as possible. You paid for it.

 

Coffee Prince Cafe
Nearest train station: Hongik Univ St (line 2/green line)

Familiar scene
Familiar scene

So I have mentioned about this cafe on my previous post. Word is, this cafe exists solely because of the fans of Coffee Prince the drama. So yea, you can spot a lot of tourists taking pictures outside (the cafe had a strict policy to only allow customers in).

 

Inside Coffee Prince Cafe
Inside Coffee Prince Cafe

Remember that counter?

The waiters and waitresses wears the same Coffee Prince uniform too… And, same as Cath’s cafe, since you’ve paid for it, go crazy with your camera.

Green tea ice cream waffle with whipped cream and chocolat & caramel sauce
Green tea ice cream waffle with whipped cream and chocolat & caramel sauce

We ordered cappuccino (for me), tea (which come to think of it, I have not tasted at all) and waffles to share. We’re trying to minimize budget here, and frankly there’s not that much space in our tummy… it was delicious, but not worth the price actually… The cappuccino will set you back around KRW 6,500 if I remember correctly. But like I said, you’re paying for all those pictures you’re taking inside the cafe, so snap away.

With the waiter
With the waiter

Yea, you can even request a picture with one of the waiter.

Kona Beans
Nearest train station: Apgeujong St

Kona Beans
Kona Beans

There’s a reason we worked hard to find this cafe. My friends are kinda fans of Super Junior (see where I’m going with this?).

The cafe is co-owned by Leetuk, Sungmin and Kyuhyun! This means that you’ll see a whole lot of fans gifts for their idol. And I was told that sometimes the boys’ mothers would be there. *gasp*

Why this cafe is so hard to find? The store I use as benchmark is closed. I use this guide from 2012 and the cafe it used as guide had changed to a restaurant!! We actually walked all the way to Apgeujong Rodeo St!! Then when we realised we must have missed our turn, we googled and using a second site as guide, we searched for Angel-in-us coffee store, which also CLOSED DOWN!!! It was waze that finally saved us! Though it took a while to load, it worked and we finally found it!! We were soooo happy when we did! It was getting windier (is there such word?) outside and we were cold.

And for your information, I don’t like Super Junior. Nope.

Mapple Latte
Maple Latte

Bonus point: their maple latte is AWESOME!! It’s like their specialty and, after a long windy day out searching for this cafe, you deserve such amount of sugar (and warmth) in your body.

It was such a sugar rush that we laughed at the smallest things on our way back to the station. The brutal wind after the warmth of the cafe probably helped too.

 

Coffee Chu
Nearest train station: Hangangjin St (Line 6/Brown line)

coffee chu
coffee chu

So one day we decided instead of having our breakfast at a cafe nearby, we should go and explore the good cafes (which L googled). And so we decided to go to Hangangjin St and take our pick from the stretch of road from Hangangjin St to Itaewon St and this is the first cafe from the list that we found.

Churro galore~
Churro galore~

If you love churros, you definitely must go to! They will be fried just after you ordered them, making them nice and warm when you eat it. It’s considered expensive, but totally worth a try! ^^

 

Coco Bruni
Nearest train station: Itaewon St (Line 6/Brown line)

996. Entrance
coco bruni

L said this cafe is pretty famous and it’s just along the the main road, and there’s some sort of museum just across the street (I say museum cos there seems like there were a field trip happening with kids coming in and out the building when we were enjoying our cake on the outdoor table.

Inside coco bruni
Inside coco bruni

The inside interior looks cozy, but we chose to sit outside.

Earl grey cake
Earl grey cake

We ordered the Earl Grey cake, their specialty cake. Yes just cake. Why? Like I said, it was supposed to be breakfast. But as it turned out, we were cafe hopping instead. As you can see, there’s many layers to the cake, and they are DELICIOUS eaten together! Sadly (for me at least) the rice cracker was not crunchy…

 

Glamorous Penguin
Nearest train station: Itaewon St (Line 6/Brown line)

Glamorous Penguin
Glamorous Penguin

Now this is the cafe that we settled for for brunch that day. BUT! We found out that they only sell desserts!! No brunch menu (or maybe we reach there too late? Anyone know?)!!

Inside Glamorous Penguin
Inside Glamorous Penguin

As you can see, they specialize on cakes and guess what? I actually figure out why they took penguin as their ‘mascot’… Here’s the clue:

1003. Cookies and cream

Get it? Get it? 😀

Anyway, I end up ordering a cup of caramel macchiato and a cookie. We really took some time just relaxing in this cafe. I actually did some writing here…

Post card writing~
Postcard writing~

Haha, yes, I wrote some postcards here. The 2nd floor is really quiet and relaxing! It’s great for when your legs are tired of walking and just want some rest in the afternoon. I would recommend their specialty oreo latte with one of their cakes.

 

Tartine
Nearest train station: Itaewon St (Line 6/Brown line)

Tartine
Tartine

Excuse my being there, I really don’t have any pictures of just the place…

A fan of Running Man? Remember the episode where they had a mission in Itaewon area and Jaesuk had to go do his mission in a pie restaurant and he met the Italian boss? Well, it’s this one. Dunno exactly what episode that is though. I only watch them once… and yet some of them really do stick to my head… yea, my brain is pretty selective what useless stuff it remembers.

1026. Chocolate mud pie
Chocolate mud pie with whipped cream on top

Super delicious, but super sinful too.

 

Some coffee chain you can find all throughout Seoul:

Paris Baguette
Now this cafe is like Starbucks in Seoul. The Gangnam branch we went to was the biggest we saw and have a lot more varieties of pastries & cakes than the Myeongdong branch which is near our guest house.

665. Paris Baguette

Cheon Song Yi is guarding the front… Funny thing is, their rival brand, Tous de Jours (I say they are rivals because they have similar items sold), have Kim Soo Hyun endorsing the brand… LOL

Inside Paris Baguette in Myeongdong
Inside Paris Baguette in Myeongdong

I didn’t get a chance to eat it, was told their sandwiches are superb. I did get to try their cappuccino and it’s superb!! The cup is super cute too~

caffe bene
I have to say, if I had to pick my worst cafe experience, this is it. Not because something bad happened though, it’s just the cafe that is the most… ‘usual’. The coffee was so soe. Also, they switched my cappuccino with my friend’s cafe latte… >__> And I was wondering why I can barely taste coffee in my cappuccino! We finally discovered the switch when my friend commented that her latte tasted very bitter. I had a taste and knew immediately that it’s actually my cappuccino.

Beautiful decor inside cafe benne in Myeongdong
Beautiful decor inside cafe benne in Myeongdong

I do like their decor though. Really pretty don’t you think?

My bagel and 'cappuccino'
My bagel and ‘cappuccino’

As for the bagel, I must say… all bagels tastes the same… LOL~ BUT! I do hear their shaved ice are really good. I wasn’t in the mood for one when we visited though so we didn’t try it.

 

A Twosome Place
There’s a branch close to our guest house in Myeongdong and we head there for breakfast one day. Note that their breakfast menu ended at 11.

667. A Twosome place
There’s apparently ‘Twosome Plus’ coffee which is endorsed by Choi Siwon of Super Junior (which is why I know about it in the first place – I have serious SJ fans for friends see). And apparently, if you googled twosome place, there’s one that is owned by So Ji Sub. There’s a whole lot of cafes that’s owned by celebrities it seems. So just google your favorite I guess…

772. Interior

Their interior is definitely not my favorite.. It’s cozy though.

Bagel & cappuccino
Bagel & cappuccino

Since I love bagels, and I hardly eat them (not regularly I mean), I end up eating a few in Seoul… LOL… This is just a so so cafe for me.

 

Manoffin
The closest branch was the one just outside Myeongdong train station and I actually saw more of the take-away outlets rather than proper cafes.

Manoffin cafe
Manoffin cafe

The only Manoffin cafe I saw was in Itaewon.

The unique thing about this cafe chain is that you can exchange your ordinary cap for a muffin. Other than that, I don’t see anything special about it (probably cos I haven’t really bought anything from it yet…).

Muffin coffee
Muffin coffee

You basically just order whatever drink you want, then exchange the cap for a muffin (they will give you the cap as well).

Overall, I’d say Paris Baguette is my favorite cafe chain. Love the cappuccino (and they only cost like KRW3,500!) and their bread is amazing! LOVE their pudding and organic milk (which is not in the Singapore outlet). The cute takeaway cup is a bonus. ^^

Milky Bee
Milky Bee

Not exactly a coffee place, Milky Bee is actually a desserts cafe. They have super delicious organic milk ice cream. They have several branches all around Seoul.

Organic milk ice cream
Organic milk ice cream

The two favorites at Milky Bee. I gotta say, the one with honey is the best! I love the ice cream and the honey is just YUM! XD

 

Also, here are pictures of some random cafes we saw but never enter:

Hello Kitty Cafe
Hello Kitty Cafe

Hello Kitty fans, lemme introduce you to Hello Kitty Cafe. This cafe is located near the Trick Eye Museum in Hongdae. And if you don’t have the time to visit Hongdae? Fret not, they have a branch in Incheon Airport.

Coffee Antique
Coffee Antique

Bonus point for super cozy seating area in front. This cafe is located on top of the hill close to Namsan Tower cable car station.

799. Interesting cafe

A cafe that looks really cozy. It’s located in the Mural Village I mentioned about in my previous village. So if you are tired from all the walking, you know where to stop. 😉

970. Cafe doodles

OK, so actually there are a LOT of cafes that have this cute doodles on their store windows and this is just one of them. Located in Myeongdong area, on your way up to the Namsan Tower cable car station. Cute huh?

on the hill cafe
on the hill cafe

This one, if I remember correctly, is located near the wings mural at the mural village. Cool cafe huh?

Plan B
Plan B

Just in case you want beer in the middle of the day. This cafe is located at Hongdae area. I spotted this cafe on my way to Coffee Prince.

Latte King
Latte King

This cafe is located in Gangnam, where exactly I’m not sure. We kinda got lost for a bit there… Anyway, this cafe seems to offer a lot of interesting flavors, so do look for it if you feel adventurous.

 

Bonus:

Mobile cafe
Mobile cafe

Orange Cafe
Saw this mobile cafe just in front of the entrance to Yeouido Park. I just find it so interesting that they have “Deep peace of Christ the light of the world to you” as their tagline. Sure Yeouido Full Gospel Church is like one block away but still… it’s new to me.

There are a whole lot more that our poor tummies didn’t get the chance to try, but I must say… I’m pretty happy with my choices. 🙂 Do let me know in the comment sections if you have any interesting cafes to check out in Seoul!

Seoul Cafe Hopping

One thought on “Seoul Cafe Hopping

Leave a Reply

